Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Encounter with Ezekiel?

Today I am feeling disproportionately pleased that the SU Encounter with God notes finally reach the end of Ezekiel!  yet at the same time, I feel they are to be congratulated for having the stickability to slog all the way through this large and often, well let's face it, demoralising book.

It is many years since I last read through Ezekiel (probably during that foolish exploit of late teens/early twenties who read the Bible front to back as fast as possible and get little from it on the way!) and it has been useful to spend time working through it more methodically (even if sometimes I found a whole chapter of measurements in standard or long cubits a trifle dull).

Having now reached the end, I feel I have barely scratched the surface of the book but at least have a better understanding of the context for the overworked valley of dry bones vision.  I have also discovered one or two hidden gems - such as clear reference to the inclusion of non-Jews in the new kingdom - on the way.

I don't think I'll be treating my congregation to an equivalent slog through the book, and I'm not really sure I actually know that much more about the message of Ezekiel, but, on balance it has been worth the slog. 

The comments are closed.