Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Child of Africa - Home Grown Wristbands

Anyone who reads this stuff will know that my congregation has had a high speed version of the Christian Aid Child of Africa advent material.  When I was working with the story of Edouard, I hit on the idea of using ordinary rubber bands as 'wristbands' that folk could use for one week only to remind them of children (and adults) whose lives are lived in poverty.  Sadly the bands I had were a bit small - OK for my relatively slim wrists but not for the larger ones; also I was a little concerned about the fragile skin of older folk.  In the end I suggested that people put the band around their purse or wallet, or on a pen or pencil - something they would use each day - so that they would see the band and be reminded.

I'm not entirely sure it worked - two people left the building saying 'look I've found a use for that band you gave me' - but at least it tapped into contemporary culture (several of my folk have well bangled wrists in rainbow hues) and I've found it helpful.

Comments

  • Hello Catriona

    got your letter please send address

    Maria

The comments are closed.