Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Minimalist Induction Service

Yesterday I went to the induction service for the new minister at one of the churches I'd met and been turned down by (at least on that occasion quite painlessly) during the long, winding journey that led to Dibley.  I went partly out of curiosity - just who was it that finally, after their 3-4 year search had been able to fill the shoes of their predecessor - partly out of a desire to celebrate with them and partly because this was also the start of a new era with two congregations coming together with a single minister on their way to becoming a single church in the not too distant future.

I was, quite frankly, disappointed, apart from the fact that the service was barely an hour long and the order was, well, a bit wierd,  there was absolutely no 'story telling' at all.  Maybe I'm just nosey, but I love hearing how  church/churches and minister/ministers have come together and usually have a real sense of 'yes, this is of God.'

It made me wonder just what an 'induction' service is meant to do.  Is the story telling part necessary or is it just a tradition I have accepted and enjoyed?  Is there a 'better' or 'right' place for the act of induction relative to the sermon?  In this service, the act of induction was almost at the start of the service (but strangely sandwiched in the middle of two readings and two hymns) with the sermon at the end.  I guess, arguably, it reflects a more 'Baptist' view, with the 'breaking of the word' as the culmination of the service, but I'm more accustomed to seeing the act of induction as part of the 'response to the sermon.'  What do others think?

There was nothing actually 'wrong' with the service but I did come away feeling short changed.  I am sure, from what I saw, that their new minister will be ideal for them (I would not have been) and it was a joy to celebrate with them - even a special moment when one of the deacons made a point of coming to say hello, which, almost 3 years after we last met was very unexpected.  I do wish them God's blessing for their future together and will watch to see how their united church emerges (definitely divine sense of humour that there are parallels with life in Dibley).  In the meantime, I will continue to enjoy hearing testimonies/stories and enjoying what I believe to be one of our finer traditions!

The comments are closed.