Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Liturgical Insensitivity?

Well, I'm obviously in waffle mode this week as this is the third post!

Yesterday I went along to the local Rally of Women's Meetings, which my lot were hosting.  Essentially this is a service followed by tea, which they produce and deliver themselves.  In the coming months they then tour each other's churches for more rallies and more teas and generally have a jolly time.

The speaker was excellent, if a little too anecdotal for my preferences, but the service structure itself drove me to the brink of despair!  I begin to wonder whether people actually have a clue what they are doing when they structure a service, or if they just think 'oh yes, we'll have that bit now.'

The order was: hymn, Bible reading, praise songs, prayers of thanks and intercession, hymn, sermon, hymn, blessing.  (Not a million miles from the induction service I was at the other week really).  By the time we got to the sermon I was struggling to remember what the reading was!

For many years I expressed a dislike of 'liturgy' which I wrongly understood as 'pre-printed forms' as our Baptist forebears would say.  I still dislike too much dependence on forms of words- though do use them now and then - but have learned a better understanding of what 'liturgy' really is.  During the year of my training spent working with an Anglican priest, I was described as 'liturgically sensitive,' a label I am happy with.  If liturgical sensivitivity means understanding about the 'shape' or 'flow' of a service, creating something that makes some kind of theological sense, then that's something I aim to do.

Why then so much liturgical insensitivity from people who have been leading services since before I was born?  I am often amazed when people on the reader's rota ask me where the reading will come when, liturgically, it's always in the same place.  Am I really so odd in noticing the patterns and appreciating the rhythm? 

Some of the newer lay preacher training does cover this aspect of worship leading but I do wonder what might have happened in the past that we end up with such muddled and confusing services led by highly gifted and experienced people.  What do others think?

The comments are closed.