Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Putting a 'WoW' in my Step!

Part of my holiday last week was spent with a friend with whom I will be walking the Trans Pennine Trail in the fortnight that bridges July into August.  It's a mere 200 miles or so, 5 OS maps wide and 2 high, around 2000m of climbs and is probably sheer madness.  But it achieves two purposes: firstly a long standing ambition to complete a long distance walk and secondly a means of raising money for a good cause.

Over the last year, two former colleagues, a student 2 years below me at college and one of my tutors, died.  Each had wrestled with cancer or 'as near as makes no difference cancer' affecting their reproductive systems and I felt that I wanted to do something to honour their memory and maybe help other women facing similar difficulties.

I stumbled across a charity called Wellbeing of Women which funds research into 'all aspects of women's reproductive health'.  Although perhaps best known for its work on ovarian cancer, it also funds work in such diverse areas as fertility, endemetriosis and menopause.  I guess if it's female, below the waist and causes people to feel uncomfortable when they mention it, they work on it.  Whilst the big 'C' is the obvious focus, they take a fairly holistic approach.

So, gentle reader (a quaint phrase I've often wanted to use!) what I will be seeking (if you happen to know me, if you don't please ignore this request) is sponsorship and possibly the odd overnight stay to keep costs down.  My fellow walker and I know quite a lot of people along the first 40 miles of the route but once we enter Yorkshire not so many.

Please check out the WOW website to find out more and feel free to wonder at the insanity of this endeavour whilst at the same time realising that we will be remembering Rachel and Gillian.

Comments

  • Does your route pass near Ilkley? Almost bound to, I'd have thought. How could you miss such a beautiful spot? and with such excellent accommodation at my place!

  • I've just looked the route up. It comes nowhere near Ilkley!! Big mistake. Do the Pennine Way instead, or the Dales Way.

    I can lend you a tent.

  • Thanks Stuart,
    I'll bear it in mind for the next mega hike!
    Always assuming I have any feet left after 200 miles of walking of course.

  • How do we sponsor you?

    ps a spelling mistake !! as far as i can see, it's your first one. Hurrah, hurrah, at last something i can relate to as you normally exist on a higher plane to me

  • Just looked your route up. Don't want to be negative, but the first few miles are really depressing - past the chemical plants of widnes and the landfill quarter of warrington. But it can only get better.

    You're welcome to crash here if nobody else has offered yet. Fraid i can't help with further on as it's not my part of Yorkshire. I'm from the other side of the moor to Stuart (but i know all the words to the song)

  • Hi Peter, yes I know what the first 40 miles looks like - and the total irony is driving from Dibley to Warrington to get a train to Liverpool and then walk back to Warrington the first day! Look on the bright side, the route gets better as it goes along...

    Sponsorship - snail mail a cheque to me payable to Wellbeing of Women. I'm fairly sure you know whereabouts in Dibley I live, and if not you can always check out the Baptist Union Directory in your local library.

    Spelling errors- only one! I was having a very good day then!

    Thanks for dropping by

The comments are closed.