Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Ascension - Part Deux

Well, they didn't eject me for unspeakable heresy!  In fact a number of people even said it was interesting, topical or made them think - I think that's sort of praise.

What intrigued me was not the reaction to the Da Vinci Code but the responses to the little quiz with which I began the sermon - if I thought I'd been showing a high level of Biblical illiteracy (earlier post today), it was nothing compared to that of my three colleagues or the congregation in general!

Test yourself out without looking at a Bible, commentary or concordance and see how you do...

1) How many gospels are there in the Bible?

2) How many of these gospels have an account of Jesus' death and resurrection?

3) How many of these gospels have an account of Jesus' birth?  For a bonus point can you name them?

4) How many of the gospels have an account of the ascension?  Which? (No bonus points for those smarties who can give an answer relating to the longer ending of Mark)

Suffice to say that the only question that people got right was No 1 with three the most popular answer for all other questions (perhaps an assumption about the synoptics?)

It is no wonder we get tied in knots by cynics, sceptics and seekers when we don't have a clue ourselves.  Perhaps we need to worry a little less about what Dan Brown is writing and learn a bit about the Bible ourselves?

 

PS The answers are...

1) Four

2) Four

3) Two - Matthew and Luke

4) One - Luke.  Or two if you accept the longer ending of Mark

Comments

  • "In fact a number of people even said it was interesting, topical or made them think - I think that's sort of praise."

    Praise, indeed. I haven't mentioned the Da Vinci Code yet, but it is certainly catching the interest of many people. I think being topical, not for the sake of it, but where it fits, is extremely important. And people will be grateful. So often the Church looks the other way.

  • I got a perfect score on your quiz - I would have loved to hear your sermon!

The comments are closed.