Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Crackin' Ordination Gromit!

It was a very hot July afternoon and as a football loather (possibly a heresy worthy of the stake) I was happy to be in church for an ordination service.  The one or two spare seats, and the ability to get an aisle place anyway, meant it did not become unbearably hot, though I was very glad not to be one of the suited folk 'up front' on this occasion.

I enjoy these events, so unashamedly Baptist in their diversity, yet united by the common elements of worship, preaching, story telling and promise making.  I am always fascinated by the choice of hymns and songs, the readings selected (and why) and, being nosy, the testimony bits never fail to appeal.  Today's service was no exception, and I came away proud to be Baptist and encouraged in my own ministry.  It was a crackin' do.

The text, John 2:1 - 11, is one I more naturally associate with marriage services, though perhaps there is a natural similarity between marriage and ordination promises/vows, and the sermon combined humour and colour with some profound reflections on ministry.  I even had a little smile to myself as a reference was made to a Bible story - Jesus walking on water - that I had used when I led devotions during this person's college interview over 3 years ago.  God's Spirit and God's humour!  So, just in case the preacher happens this way and wants to be sure I listened, the five points, as I heard them, were...

Ministry as celebration - joyful, fun and abundant

Ministry in the midst of life - not chaplain to the saints locked in a church building

Ministry as priesthood - pontifical - where each acts a bridge taking the needs of others to Christ

Ministry as authority - under God/Christ and relational

Ministry as the reflection of the glory of God in the world - embodied/incarnational

 

It was good stuff, I guess easy to hear because I'd endorse what I heard/understood it to say, but no less challenging.

This was the first time for a long time that I went to an ordination service without a 'job' to do, and it was a real privilege simply to receive as a member of the congregation.  It was good silently to re-affirm my own ordination promises and to renew my own commitment to walk in ways 'known and to be made known' to use that lovely old Baptist covenant expression.  It was good to sing songs that reflected the reality of life - joys and sorrows, a conscious choice to bless God's name no matter what, and of a God who is faithful.  Ministry for me certainly combines all sorts of experiences and emotions, and these were songs I could 'own.'

Hopefully the newly ordained minister will be able to turn the gift I gave him into wine - and when he next passes this way to be assured that this, not wierd testing kits with dip sticks that turn blue in certain liquids, is a far better demonstration that the process 'worked', or has begun to work.  More importantly, I pray that he will find his ministry enjoyable and rewarding.

In the words of St Wallace the Hairbrained, 'crackin'.

The comments are closed.