Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Golden Years Romance

Today one of my Church Members turns 75 and announces his engagement - cause for celebration.  His fiancee has been coming to church for several months now and already takes an active part in our life together - plus she nods, smiles and frowns at the right places in my sermons, so at least I know someone is awake!  He is very keen for her to become a member once they have married, and I think that she is quite keen too.

Tomorrow we will celebrate with tea and cake (M&S celebration cakes at £9.99 a go are becoming a regular feature!).  The girl on the till in M&S thought it was wonderful when I told her what it was for, and it is.  So often we bemoan the reluctance of young people to enter committed troth relationships, yet how often do we actually celebrate with those (of any age) who do?

This couple's romance has brought delight to their lives, and I wish them a blessed future together. The marriage preparation stuff might be entertaining all ways round but I am looking forward to their wedding in January when we once more borrow a church building (D+2) and celebrate together.

More seriously, I am trying to find some suitable membership material - I have most BUGB and BUS stuff but it tends to assume either youth or ignorance of Christian basics.  Does anyone know of anything suitable for a thinking 70 year old?

The comments are closed.