Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Can two walk together?

This phrase from Amos was the chosen text of the preacher last night at our most recent 'courtship service' with D+1 and for the first time saw us hearing a sermon that spoke directly into the issue of potential merger.  It was gently done, there was no mention of either of our churches at all, and an awful lot of anecdotes and wider references to ecumencial and interfaith relationships along the way.

I think, though, that the timing was absolutely right - the next few months are critical in this process as we either make the decision to walk together into a future that may outlast us, or agree to go our separate ways - with, I fear, inevitable consequences.

Over the next couple of weeks, each congregation is tasked with identifying the topics we wish to raise at the joint members' meeting at the end of the month.  I fear that this will centre on hymnals, buildings and service times and miss the real issues of 'why do we exist?' and 'what shape might our future mission take?'  I'd love to be proved wrong, but I do not intend to hold my breath!  Maybe it was the choice of hymns last night that I found so demoralising, or the lady from D+1 who spoke of how her daughter who moved away over 40 years ago is still a member there, or even the person from Dibley who said 'I suppose I really should do x that I have committed to but I don't feel like it.'  Whatever it was, despite a well attended service and a timely message, I was left a bit uncertain of the future here.

Many children's hymns and songs use a journey metpahor and have the honesty to admit to struggles and uncertainty whilst keeping faith in a certain God.  This is not unlike the message we saw in the psalms over the last few weeks.  Can two walk together?  Right now I don't know, but at least wherever the journey ends up, God walks with us.  I don't think that this is denial, wishful thinking or shallow optimism, rather it is the rugged determined faith of the psalmist or of Isaiah speaking of God's servant who 'will not be discouraged' - something I read as a decision not to let the so-and-sos get you down, not an unruffled rising above it all.

The comments are closed.