Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

'Our God has No Favorites'

medium_book.jpgWhen I was training to be a minister, I spent a year working with a Roman Catholic church.  It was a very bitter-sweet experience but one I chose and have no regrets about whatsoever.  This week, as I began to think more about the idea of being an 'Inclusive Community' for our Five Core Values revisit, the title of this little book I read during that time came back to me.

Being present at Mass three times a Sunday for 40 weeks but not allowed to receive communion is a powerful symbol of exclusion, and one that significantly impacted on my thinking about this aspect of our corporate worship life.  This little book is an exploration of precisely the issue of interdenominational communion and asks some really tough questions.  Whilst I never quite got to embrace their conclusion - that maybe we should suspend the celebration of communion until we are united - I came pretty close!

The book is now out of print - indeed, the copy I read was a not-quite-legal-but-don't-tell-anybody-photocopy - but now thanks to Amazon I've managed to get my very own copy and it seems there are a few more out there.  It's worth a read, if you haven't yet read it -buy now before they're all gone!!!

The comments are closed.