Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Towards a Common Cup...?

Yesterday D+1 joined us for worship, and we had a good turnout.  In fact, I know that there were 43 people present because we had 40 communion glasses!  Due to various mishaps over the last two years and the fact that it seems someone likes these things enough to pinch the odd one now and then (either that or they grow legs and walk), forty appears to be the sum total.

Yesterday there was enough wine for 40 glasses, so I was offered some blackcurrant squash for the chalice - aside from any litrugical or theological preferences, I do NOT like blackcurrant drinks; indeed it is well known in certain circles that if I drink it, I must be VERY thirsty.  Still, I point blank refuse to lift an empty chalice, so blackcurrant squash it was.

Just as well, as it turned out - the two servers and I had to share the common cup while eveyone else had their nice, almost sterile glass of sickly sweet communion wine.

I think the absurdity was lost on most people, but my servers - who had taken a equal part to me in the communion liturgy anyway (apologies those who don't like 'con-celebration' or the like) - seemed to quite appreciate the greater intimacy it offered.

One step nearer to a common cup?  Anyone got a sledge hammer for the remaining 40 glasses?!

The comments are closed.