Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Wibbley of Dibley!

There is no Roger Hargreaves female equivalent of Mr Worry, so I'll have to settle for Wibbley of Dibley!

Tomorrow night is our church AGM and I dread with a passion reaching the approval of budget and request for Home Mission Funding for 2008 - the budget for this year needs a 10% rise in freewill offering if we are to meet our commitments and with no contingency.  I don't think this will happen - it hasn't happened in the last three years, so why would it now?  Granted, if we sell our building and if we are allowed to realise the interest we will be solvent and off Home Mission for good, but that isn't going to increase freewill offering, it is likely to breed complacency.  The stark truth is that this church can't afford a minister and that leaves me feeling rather vulnerable.  This is not helped by the fact that most people here are 'Members of the Noble Order of the Ostrich,' to use a family-Gorton expression.

I want to tell people not to approve the budget unless they are able and willing to meet the 10% increase in giving - but fear that they will vote for it because that is the easy way out of a tricky discussion.  I do believe God has work for me to do here, but today am feeling decidedly stressed - stressed enough to tell the world rather than just the Almighty.

I know I am not alone, and that compared to people in Iraq, Africa or Asia I am truly blessed, but if you could spare a prayer for us vulnerable HMF supported ministers of small churches, I'd be everso grateful!

Comments

  • Prayers being said as I type.

The comments are closed.