Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Wibble, Wobble, Whoops!

Thank you to all those who responded to my prayer request regarding tonight's meeting - without your support it would have been so much worse than it was!  After a good half hour going round in circles and stressing that if the meeting approved the budget people were committing themselves to increasing their giving by 10%, and several saying that they couldn't afford to, they approved it with only one against.  Someone suggested that the shortfall could be made good by holding coffee mornings and socials - at which point LMB lost control of her professionalism spoke regrettably harshly to the person making the suggestion about not wanting her wages paid from jumble sales, shocked herself, apologised (too late!) and almost burst into tears - but not quite, she never does that!

Not a good end to the meeting - though I received far more affirmation in the ten minutes after the meeting than in the last three years.  One kind person dragged me of to the local(-ish) Travel Lodge for a drink and a change of scene.

So now we have a budget approved that we will struggle to meet and I will just have to deal with the mega-apology I need to make to the person who pushed me over the edge (why her and not someone who had broader shoulders?!).

So there you have it, I do lose it once in a while.  I am, as I told my folk, a human being, and maybe it's not such a bad thing to demonstrate it now and then.

Comments

  • I did a similar thing the other week, only it was a Sunday and I was unable to compose myself to conduct the service afterwards. Someone kindly took over, and the deacons gave me a week off!

    I don't think it is a bad thing to show your human. My mentor told me "You spend your life telling the congregation that your human and just a part of the church (all be it with a role of leadership), now you've proved it!"

    Today you should relax with coffee and remind yourself of all the good things that have happened over the last three years!

The comments are closed.