Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Songs and Self-Understanding

I have just been putting together the order of service for next Sunday, that's how it works in my little world, get organised early and it's easier to cope with the uncertainties that emerge later.

Next week's service will be 'completely different,' and yet it won't!  Instead of Mothering Sunday/Mothers' Day we will be celebrating what it means to be a Gospel People, a Community of Faith.  With no less than 6 Bible readings, 7 songs and lots of interaction, we will be holding our first ever cafe style service.  Utterly traditional, yet pushing the boundaries a bit for these dieheard traditionalists.  The real challenge will getting them to share commnuion in small groups around little tables... but I'm praying.

As part of this service, each group/organisation has chosen one of the hymns (apart from the communion hymn) and on the whole I am secretly chuffed with their choices.  One group has yet to let me know their choice - 'Oh Catriona, it's far too early to decide,' they claim.  The groups were asked to discuss and choose hymns/songs that said something about how they saw themselves, and this is what they opted for...

 

All things bright and beautiful

(... I did say, 'on the whole...!')

 

Will you come and follow me

Take my life and let it be

Brother, sister, let me serve you

Lord, for the years your love has kept and guided

 

My guess is the missing song will be a children's action song, as it is the children's workers who have yet to choose.

If we really are understanding ourselves as a community of servant-disciples, then I guess we're doing something right.

I'll it you know how it goes...

Comments

  • We did commnunion round tables a few weeks ago, with huge chunks of bread and pint glass fulls of grape juice, something about it being a 'meal' and about it symbolising God's gracious generosity...we then prayed in those groups. It was well received and the prayer much better than usual!
    Even with my dies hards who hate change and anything that challenges it was accepted and I haven't been sacked!
    Julie

The comments are closed.