Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

2000 Sleep Deprived Baptists - Great Fun!

Just back from Assembly, exhausted but I've had a good time.  B&B next to the late night disco bar and neighbours having an all nighter out of doors not ideal, but hey, you live and learn.

Some really good Bible studies with Simon and Sean - both made me think - and a very powerful sermon from Alastair Brown that was very focussed on issues of justice and integrity. 

You're probably not meant to admit to liking the handshake experience all that much, but I did!  Being clapped, cheered and whooped as we walked into Prism was fantastic!  Then we were sung to/over and blessed by the whole congregation before we left for the big stage.  OK, so I was front row, centre stage, right behind the big cheese of ministry department himself (or is that little cheese, he's only about my height!) but it was wonderful to look out and see so many people supporting and affirming us after seven (plus) years of blood, sweat and tears, laughter, exhileration and God-moments.  We were told to savour the moment, and I did (let's face it normality returns very quickly in these parts!).  Photos will follow when emailed to me by several kind(?!) readers.

My five minutes in the Small Churches presentation went well, and it was good to see many friends in the audience.

Despite a protracted train ride home (arriving an hour later than advertised) and a good dose of normality waiting for me I am still pretty uplifted.  Two thousand sleep deprived Baptists let loose on an unsuspecting nation - hmm, now that's an interesting thought!

The comments are closed.