Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

More Compliments!

Well, I am doing well for compliments at the moment!

In recent weeks I've discovered my services are 'sometimes strange but not boring' and that I 'don't look like a minister.'  Today after my visiting preach, I was told something I hear periodically from 'little people' in churches with lots of intellectual members - 'I understood everything you said.'  That is definitely the biggest compliment, the one that I cherish when all else fails: sometimes I feel I talk a load of old tosh, sometimes I'm not sure if the sermons actually go anywhere, but if someone feels that it's made sense, and they've been able to engage with it, then, yes, it's been worth it.

A strange but understandable service led by an unministerial minister - mmm, I think I like that description!!

Comments

  • Its strange about comments..I have got virtually none in 2 and a half years but when I was a visiting preacher two weeks ago I got loads of very positive comments - you have given us things to think about - stimulating and one person even bothered to write to me! Get back home, do a service much like I always do and suddenly I got a number of very positive comments! Maybe God was promting them andr they actually listened!
    I also seem to surprise people that I am a minister even though once they realise I get the inevitable 'Vicar of Dibley' comments - if only I was as funny!

The comments are closed.