Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Dissertation Humour

(Courtesy of Zoe, CTF ...) 

One sunny day, a rabbit came out of her hole in the ground to enjoy the fine weather. The day was so nice that she became careless and a fox snuck up behind her and caught her.

"I am going to eat you for lunch!" said the fox. "Wait!" replied the rabbit," You should at least wait a few days." 

 "Oh yeah? Why should I wait?"

"Well, I am just finishing my dissertation on 'The Superiority of Rabbits over Foxes and Wolves.'"

"Are you crazy? I should eat you right now! Everyone knows that a fox will always win over a rabbit."

"Not according to my research. If you like, you can come into my hole and read it for yourself. If you are not convinced, you can go ahead and eat me for lunch."

"You really are crazy!" said the fox, but since the fox was curious and had nothing to lose, it went into the hole with the rabbit.

The fox never came out.

A few days later, the rabbit was again taking a break from writing when a wolf came out of the bushes and was ready to set upon her.

"Wait!" yelled the rabbit," You can't eat me right now."

"And why might that be, my furry appetizer?" said the wolf.

"I am almost finished with my dissertation on 'The Superiority of Rabbits over Foxes and Wolves.'"

The wolf laughed so hard he almost let go of the rabbit. "Maybe I shouldn't eat you--you really are sick in the head! You might have something contagious."

"Come and read it for yourself, you can eat me afterwards if you disagree with my conclusions."

So the wolf went down into the rabbit's hole...and never came out.

The rabbit finished her dissertation and was out celebrating in the local lettuce patch.

Another rabbit came along and asked, "What's up? You seem very happy."

"Yup, I just finished my dissertation."

"Congratulations! What's it about?"

"'The Superiority of Rabbits over Foxes and Wolves.'"

"No way! That can't be right."

"Oh, but it is. Come and read it for yourself."

So the two rabbits went down into the rabbit hole. As they entered, the friend saw the typical graduate abode. A computer with the controversial work was in one corner surrounded by discarded papers. And on one side of the room there was a pile of fox bones, while on the other side there was a pile of wolf bones. And in the center, there was a large, well-fed lion.

The moral of the story:

The title of your dissertation doesn't matter. The subject doesn't matter. The research doesn't matter. All that matters is who your superviser is.

Comments

  • Nice joke, I like it! Also want to say that I enjoy reading your blog (perhaps you'd like to read mine, but it isn't as good - still in its infancy). By the way I'm a ministerial student at Bristol Baptist College.

  • Hi Lucy,
    thank you for your comment - and welcome to the land of girlie Baptist bloggers: it seems we are few and far between but we are feisty, fun and fab (even if I am forties and a bit staid!).

    Enjoy your summer and I'll start dropping by your way to read your stuff too. Consider yourself tagged on the scripture meme if you're daft enough to want to join in.

  • If the last sentence is true - you are probably stuffed.

  • Hmm, is that better or worse than being eaten by the lion? Or is it what happens prior to being eaten by the lion?
    Or are there just no (good) recipes for lupine/vulpine dishes in your cook book?

  • Thanks for your welcome to the 'Baptist girlie bloggers' world! And will join in on the scripture meme, but will have to have a think about it. I have to be careful now Baptist ministers are reading the blog!!

  • Lucy, don't worry about being careful on my account - I am, as you have no doubt spotted in my scribbles, a happy heretic and I never cease to be amazed how many people read this stuff!

    I guess we all have to be a little careful what we share with the world, but on the whole people are gracious both in what they post and how they comment.

    Oh, and if it's any consolation some fairly "big" baptists read this drivel from time to time and I haven't been struck off - or at least not yet!

The comments are closed.