Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Centaurs and Sphinxes to become reality?

It isn't often the 6 a.m. news makes me really sit up and take notice (I am usually still at least half asleep) but the announcemnet that permission is being sought to make hybrid human-animal embryos certainly did. The reason given - to research genetic conditions and diseases - sounds very laudible but I was troubled by what I heard.  I guess I'm left wondering why scientifically generated mutations are 'good,' even though we have no idea what other defects or conditions we might introduce on the way, and naturally occurring (or accidentally induced) mutations are 'bad' and to be eliminated.  Would society be any kinder to, or more accepting of, centaurs and sphinxes than we are to those we perceive as 'different' or 'imperfect' now?  Would society really be enriched by eliminating one more set of diseases and conditions - and would we then, as with measles, become complacent and they'd return?  And what about all the rest of the planet where a bit of clean water or simple health education programmes would save countless lives ...

I'm really glad I don't have to be involved in the decision making processes - bioethics must be a very demanding and challenging field to be part of.

Maybe we should stop playing God and start emulating Jesus?

 

PS with headlines like this, if all else fails I could get a job for the Sun!!!!

Comments

  • Mmmm. Heard the same report a couple of hours later on my way to work and had a 3-second mini thought along similar lines, though not so eloquently put. The other bit that bothered me is the business of deliberately creating these hybrid embryos in their hundreds and thousands, purely for the purpose of experimentation and with the express purpsoe of destroying them a couple of weeks later. So, we won't actually meet a real centaur, etc, because we will have killed it before it was viable on its own.

    The scientist in me can appreciate the perspective of he researchers who must genuinely feel that this approach will help make breakthroughs in human medical care. However, the Chrisitan 'bit' of my brain(???) feels uneasy. I have long ago resolved the old science/faith tension with respect to my own profession and career, but this is one of those times when I wonder if we can actually ever fully resolve these 2 perspectives.

    No answers, but I think as with other things it's important to keep raising the questions.....

The comments are closed.