Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Christmas gets earlier...

Gee whizz! Yesterday the invitations went out for the lunch club Christmas dinner, today I was given confirmation of the Church Christmas Dinner.

Yesterday I signed up for roast beef for the lunch club dinner on the basis that I will not, on principle, eat Christmas dinner on (which it is) or before my birthday.  As the church meal is the day before the lunch club one, I won't be eating turkey then either.  I guess I get a big birthday party though!

Two days before the Church dinner will be our outreach carol event with free wrinklies tea, the day after the lunch club dinner is Sing Christmas with mince pies in the pub and/or sheltered housing.  It will be a week of overeating, I fear.

I shall watch with interest who goes to which of these.  To be fair, in the last two years, most people have got involved with the Christmas outreach and in any case I think it is good for the church folk to share a decent meal together once in a while.  It would be even better if a few people, other than me, actually did a bit of mingling though.  I might be really rash and ask the deacons to move tables between courses!

Comments

  • Wow, that is early to be thinking of Christmas dinners. I had to smile though when I read it- not wanting to eat a Christmas dinner on your birthday. I also have a December birthday (I'm assuming this event is in December!) and have a similar resistance to eating Christmas dinner on mine. Sometimes my birthday was the last or second to last day before we broke up for school and my friends would sometimes want to give me Christmas presents on my birthday! I would have to decline and tell them to give it to me somewhen else!
    P.S thanks for the comments on my blog!

  • Hi Lucy, sounds like yours and my birthdays are pretty close together. I have recollections of the carol concerts, school plays and Christmas parties on MY day, to say nothing of the ubiquitous and oh, so orginal, and I don't think, 'Christmas and Birthday Present Combined', wrapped in holly paper, and being identical to everyone else's Christmas gift.

    Personally, I blame the parents!

    Having said all that, my first conscious encounter with the Christmas story was a school nativity play performed by some of the older juniors on my 6th birthday, so I guess I can't moan too much...

    My one bit of shameless self indulgence as a minister is that if my birthday falls on a Sunday I allow myself the privilege of lighting the advent candles (I am generally a firm believer in inviting congregation members to do this). It happens about once in 6 years, and as it's always Advent 4, it's the best one to get!!

    Anyway, this year as I will hit 45 (and it's a Wednesday, same as the year I was born apparently) I guess it's really time to stop keeping count of birthdays !

  • Yea I never liked the whole 'Christmas and birthday present' combined either! We obviously don't share the same day mine's on Monday this year ...of course I'd have to confess to being a little younger 22 this yr but I can't see I'll ever want to stop counting:)..

The comments are closed.