Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

On Completing 'Gilead'

Today was last week's day off, well almost, I had to do some urgent admin this morning and have a meeting this evening.  But I did get to spend the afternoon lying on the settee reading most of 'Gilead,' a novel that many people have been raving about for a while.

To be honest, although I'm glad I've read it, for me it didn't set the heather alight.  Perhaps I didn't "get it."  Although I found bits that resonated or that I found quite clever, it didn't excite me the way it seems to have done others and certainly wouldn't find its way onto my 'must read/recommend' list.

One thing I might think a bit more about - because it intrigued me - was the paralleling of the Ten Commandments with the start of Genesis.  I'm sure lots of people have already thought long an hard about this, but I haven't!

It's not a case of disliking the novel, it was a perfectly acceptable read (and a relaxing way to spend my afternoon!).  I wonder if, perhaps, because it had so many recommendations I had too high hopes for it?

Whether this just demonstrates that I'm a literary philistine or that my taste is widely different from others, I have no idea.  As something to read for relaxation, it worked well, and as I will soon have to get back into reading for research purposes, I'm glad I got the chance to complete it.

The comments are closed.