Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Cunning Arguments...

Whilst reading something elsewhere today, I was reminded of the old, rather cunning, argument about behaviour when praying...

A young priest was troubled and approached his bishop with a question, "is it alright to drink tea when I'm praying?'

The bishop thought carefully for a moment or two, "I'm not sure,' he said, 'bit it is certainly alright to pray whilst you're drinking tea..."

Cunning!  But also has a deeper ring of truth, methinks.  What knots we tie ourselves in and end up missing the point.

Often we worry about allowing people who are not church members or not yet believers to take on roles in the church - from financial administration to singing in a worship group 'up front.'  Is it perhaps the case that its OK to explore faith whilst doing?  I know it isn't a direct parallel - but I also recall some bloke infirst century Palestinse saying that "whover is not against us is for us." (Yes, I know another gospel puts it another way...)  What do you think?

Comments

  • a bit of Belonging, Believing, Behaving as opposed to Behaving, Believing, Belonging?

  • Aye - I'm also thinking 'come unto me ALL you who are heavy-laden ...' (Funny how I still remember the AV, despite not reading it for about 3 decades - must be my age!)

    Anyway, we seem to have a variation on the theme which relates to 'baptised as a believer' qualification - although sometimes when we're really desperate for help, we can let that one go. How about when the 'infant baptised' committed Christian is keen to serve??

    It seems to me to be the opposite of 'church', let alone the Intelligent Church that Steve Chalke talks about.

The comments are closed.