Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

My Preacher's Got No Notes...

... How does he sound?

Dreadful!

(OK it should be a dog with no nose who smells dreadful, and yes, it is is sexist to have a male preacher, but...)

Glen has posted a set of Ten Commandments for preachers, which are thought provoking and, on the whole, I'd agree with.  Except No 6 "Use as few notes as possible" - unless I interpet that in the light of No 4 "be yourself," in which case my usual 'full script' is as few as possible whilst being true to myself.

Having mulled this over a little, here are my thoughts on notes, and a few commandments I'd suggest.

The best sermons I've heard have been from people who use pretty comprehensive notes.  Whilst the all time worst was scripted -and followed all the guidelines I'd ever heard for preparation - on the whole the worse sermons are those delivered with few or no notes.  I don't think this is about the rights and wrongs of notes per se, I think it is probably about some underlying issues on preparation.

In my experience, more women preachers use full scripts and more men use few or no notes (and, yes, it can look like machismo sometimes) and/or powerpoint bullet points.  Maybe there is a gendered thing going on here, reluctant though I am to suggest it.  Having said that, most of my top 5 preachers are men and they all use notes.

I'm not saying Glen's list is wrong, just that I think the 'strive for no notes' as being somehow better or superior is unhelpful.

In terms of commandments I'd say

  1. Read the text(s).  Sounds obvious, but REALLY read them.  If you're clever, in the orginal langauges, if you're like me in a couple of translations, including (if you have control) the one that will be read from in church.  Too often I think I know the texts until I read them afresh.
  2. Jot down what the text "says" to you before you read commentaries or outlines in Light or Roots - but do read them.  I never cease to be amazed how my response and the different things I read complement and extend each other.
  3. Record your thoughts in the way that works for you - there isn't a right or wrong, but most of us are fallible enough to forget things if we don't record them.
  4. Preach the sermon you need to hear - well that's what someone told me years ago anyway!  I think it means, don't think 'hmm, Mrs so-and-so should hear this...' (odds on, she won't be here this week!) but at the same time do think who the congregation is and whether or not your sermon has any relevance to them.
  5. Don't be afraid to abandon it all and just speak, if that's what feels appropriate.  A handful of times in the ten years or so I've been preaching, I have stood at the front and realised what I have prepare just isn't the right thing to say - but, because I've done the work and recorded my thoughts, they are better anchored in my mind, equipping me to 'follow the Spirit's lead'

 

Not ten - not exhaustive - but what I find helpful.  I now have two non-preahcing weeks, which feels a bit odd, soIshallbe watching what other people do with interest.

Comments

  • I'm going to keep this short - there is soooooooo much I cld say as I tend to be a bit of a minimal notes fascist. However I shall restrain myself - so just one or two ill prepared comments off the top of me head.

    Good preparation is absolutley essential but this needn't (and to my mind oughtn't) to mean producing a manuscript. People who prefer to use manuscripts tend to emphasise content at the expense of delivery. I can't tell you how often I've wanted to scream, "Stop reading to me and speak to me!" Many preachers might as well pass round their scripts and say, "Here, read this for 15 minutes". If they manage to achieve effective delivery I reckon it's despite the manuscript.

    I agree that many no-notes preachers are rank bad but as I say I think the issue here (as you suggest) is complete lack of preparation. My contention is that there are far better forms of preparation more suited to the oral medium of preaching than writing out a manuscript.

    If you can, get a copy of Clyde Fant's "Preaching for Today" now sadly op - he nails this one for me.

  • Thanks Glen, I have just ordered it from Amazon for £1.15 plus P&P (two copies left if anyone else is interested...).

    I know what you mean about boring reading of sermons, believe me, I do. I like to think I get an OK balance on reading and talking but, whilst I intend to stick with my scripts for the time being, I am open to being convinced otherwise.

The comments are closed.