Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Is 'Dance' the new 'Journey'?

The 'journey' metaphor has been popular far at least a decade, to my knowledge, and it's a good one for all sorts of reasons.  Now I am starting to detect increasingly frequent mentions of 'dance' in stuff I read.

For example...

  • Trinitarian perichoresis as divine dance (Paul Fiddes)
  • Evangelism as dance (Brian McLaren)
  • Church as a (barn) dance (Anthony Reddie, admittedly only as a one off, but even so...)

What I wonder is, how does this complement and how does it critique the 'journey' metaphor?  What cultural understandings of dance shape its use as a metaphor?  And how on earth can you use it with those churches/congregations who perceive dance as demonic?!  Answers on a post card...

Comments

  • Adrian Plass once pointed out that Jesus said he'd come "to give us life - and give it in a barn dance".

    Forgive me, I'm having a hard week...

The comments are closed.