Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

For Healing and Service

As part of yesterday's service I offered peple an opportunity of anointing - for healing and/or for service, both Biblical patterns.  When I'd been preparing the service, I had felt strongly that this was the right thing to do, but as the week wore on I became less certain - my folk can be a bit rigid and tell me thst 'Baptists don't...' (fill in the gap).  All through the service I hummed and ha-ed (or however you spell that expression) and only during the intercessions - which I always get someone else to lead - did I finally decide to go with it.

f3c20a54bc5dcdd3d1fdb7b9ee5262a2.jpg

I found this fantastic photo on the web with a Google search which seems to say everything that needs to be said theologically about anointing...

You don't need to be male or a priest to do it, you don't need to be young or dying to receive it!  You don't need 'holy oil blessed by the bishop' - Wilko's baby oil or ASDA cooking oil will do fine (best not to use dirty engine oil though).

And - which is as well as I'm left handed - you don't have to do it with your right hand!!!

~

Before the liturgical invitation to the Lord's table (Baptist brick page 14, a 'Simple Pattern'; I hadn't the energy to write my own this time) I explained what I was offering, that the oil was hypoallergenic, dermatologically tested etc etc and that I would come round during the last hymn (the front row was half full because we only put enough chairs, so I couldn't ask then to move there) but they'd need to indicate by waving at me, which would require some courage on their part.

I, not quite sure what I expected, but I was touched and surprised by those who did respond - not just the 'obvious' ones, in fact, not at all the obvious ones really.  Some of the quieter folk, who are seen as rather peripheral to the church, not the 'old' families, not the noisy ones, these were the people who shyly raised a hand and asked for annointing and prayer.  One person sitting in the back row crossed himself, and I smiled inwardly, glad he felt safe to do this (and afterwards recalled how, though during a year working with an RC church I had never felt the desire to join in, sometimes, in private it is something I, too, find helpful...), another woman, quietly weeping said 'this has come just at the right time...'

It is a constant mystery to me how, when we dare to take risks with our worship, mission and service, somehow, God breaks through and makes authentic the very thing that pushes our boundaries beyond what we would ever dream.

I don't know that anointing will become part of our regular worship- in some ways, I hope not.  There is always a danger that it would become another routine. If, however, it helps us better to minister to one another in moments of need and commissioning, then it is a good thing.

The comments are closed.