Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Hymns & Songs about the Bible

Help!  Anyone got any good suggestions?  Without going into detail, I've just got myself into trouble with a pianist over choosing one that refered to it as containing 'stories' when 'everyone' knows it is the 'truth.'  In my view, the two are not mutually exclusive, and I note that BPW 200 and MP 629 are examples of mainstream evangelical hymnals using hymns with this word in relation to the Bible.  They wouldn't normally be my choice as they're so old and pietistic (or some such) but I have a whole sermon to deliver predicated on the phrase 'God has given us a book full of stories' (which I could cheerfully problematise on what we mean by 'has given' but won't) so singing it was an obvious choice.

In the end we will probably be singing MP 64, which just about fits the theme, and I will have to interweave bits of BPW 200 into what I say...  Dibley are so much more tolerant than their near neighbours...!  (Perhaps I should have said 'God told me to chose this hymn' rather than, as I did 'it fits the theme'!).  Ah me.

Comments

  • Jesus restores to us again - graham kendrick. 876 in SoF book 2

  • I come to You, to sit at Your feet - Louise & Nathan Fellingham, 1307 in SoF 3

  • Try stamping your feet, slapping the person concerned, learning to play the organ quickly and shouting "if you won't play the hymns I've picked move over buster and I'll do it."

    Failing that I really like the anabaptist classic "Our Father God they name we praise" more about preaching than the Bible per se but to my mind goes well in the word bit of the service. However most other people don't like it as much as I do. But they are wrong.

    Also I've recently used and taken quite a shine to "May the mind of X my saviour". But once again most others don't like it nearly as much as me. See above.

  • Thanks for the suggestions - they are some good songs/hymns although they don't work for the thread of the service I'm doing. The aim of the Bible Society material for this year, so far as I read it, is to challenge our culture of what I might nickname MacMarcionitism - snacking on favourite gospel - and encourage use of the whole Bible in a balanced fashion (i.e. tries to be St Jamie Oliver of Bible reading). Most of those suggested are, dare I say, too NT centric, though each has definite merits. What was 'good' about BPW 200 (God has given us a book full of Stories) is that it reflects the Bible as a whole, for all ages and situations. it is adequately Christo-centric (... but the best os the story of Jesus) even if a bit glittery stable and twee.

    Ah well, by the time I've told them that 'scripture' in Romans and Timothy means 'OT' because the NT wasn't yet written they'll probably be drafting their letter to ministries dept...

    Glen, what's not for anyone to like about 'May the mind of Christ my Saviour' its fab - words & tune. Guess it could get over worked but not in most Baptist churches, I suspect.

The comments are closed.