Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Life is Good in Manchester

So says a postcard I have framed and hung on the wall of my dining room; so was my experience.  It always saddens me when I here the press reporting how bad somewhere is, because the truth is, in order for the national averages to exist, places have to be 'worse' as well as 'better.'  (Though I'm waiting for the day the press reports that everyone is above or below it!  ;-)  )

Having read the stuff on the BBC website, I wish I could justify the time to track down these statistics and see what they are actually saying.  Presumably even the supposedly worst grot spots on the planet have some positives, if you look for them?

Those who don't like Manchester will find in this report the affirmation that it's an awful place; those who live there may feel they have been kicked once more (or they may think 'finally, someone's telling it as it is'); those who, like me, have a soft spot for the old place, will be saddened. 

Sure, it could do better, sure it has its problems - but then the same could be said of (almost) anywhere.  Maybe this report can be read psotiviely, as highlighting some of the struggles and needs of this proud, old city - and maybe someone, somehwere will do something to help address them.  If the churches are feeling short of an outreach/mission opportunity which means really stepping beyond the nice comfort of then here's a massive one...

The comments are closed.