Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

As Others See Us

I have a couple of Google alerts (and a couple of Zetoc ones which are undoutbedly more scholarly) set up to let me know when things appear that ostensibly might just relate to my research work.

Today one popped up that says this....

"Every evil that Spurgeon saw came to pass.  Toleration of error eventually put error in control.  Today the British Baptist Union has virtually no positive spiritual impact."

The Baptist Story David Potter, PhD, online

Setting aside that the writer clearly doesn't even know the correct title of our august body, let alone that Connexion is spelled with an 'x' in relation to the New Connexion, it is a pretty swingeing indictment of a fairly large tranche of 21st century British Christianity.  It would seem that our lack of fundamentalism is what makes us so mad, bad and dangerous to know.  At least now I know we're all heretics, I feel so much happier.

I'm sure Dr Potter is a very nice man, sincere and devout, and his opinions of us are, of course, for him to form, but "virtually no positive spiritual input"?  I don't think so.

Comments

  • Ha ha ha.... I had to read it for my self. I think when all said and done you might call this a thoroughly under researched publication.

    Ps your feed has vanished from my feedreader for some reason....dough. computers are fine when they work.

The comments are closed.