Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

When it's all worthwhile

Anyone who has read this stuff for any length of time will know that our church's children's club on a Friday has been a source of concern and frustration for about a year.  For quite a lot of the autumn term I gave up my Friday evenings to go as the 'parent' helper because the parents simply would not volunteer.  The children were incredibly badly behaved and discipline was a real problem at times.

Since Christmas one of the regular leaders has been unable to come along because of serious health problems, so I have been acting as No 2 leader, with one of my deacons taking on the 'parent helper' role.

Tonight we had thirteen children, and what could so easily have been a disastrous night with a fair amount of name calling and refusal to join in.  Then, after the drink break, I sat them down to make cards or write messages for the leader who is ill.  This was when it all felt worthwhile.  Every one of them industriously set about making something - cards, pictures, collages, poems - expressing their love and concern for the absent leader.  Sometimes last term they psuhed her almost to breaking point, and it was really touching to read in one of the messages "sorry for all the things we've put you through."

We are just beginning to have real conversations with the children, starting to do a few activities that allow us to build relationships rather than simply containing and channelling their energy.  I don't claim to understand boys - despite growing up with two brothers and always working in male dominated environments, virtually all my children's and youth work experience is with girls - and I am still learning that, as a rule of thumb, they need to loud and boistrous.  Yet one of the most beautiful sights tonight was to see one of the lads sit down, announce 'ooh colouring, I LOVE colouring' and create a super three-dimensional card with a 'boingy bit' and a kind-hearted message.

I think these children know how far they can push me, and I had to smile when I overheard one comment to another "it's a good job Catriona didn't hear you say THAT word" - nice to know I am still head dragon (my old GB Camp nickname) after all these years.

I really hope that more church folk will choose to get involved over the coming weeks or months, whatever it turns out to be, because for most of these children  this is the nearest they ever get to church.  I'd love to begin to introduce something more in the God-slot line, but it isn't yet the right time.  For all that, perhaps tonight, when for 15 minutes they thought about someone else and expressed love and gratitude for what they receive, they were closer to prayer than they - or I - realised.

The comments are closed.