Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Pastoral Care as "Ladies who Lunch"

By default, this is becoming a new modus operandum for 2008.  I have a number of women who work part time or are younger retired, and a number of others who are currently off work with long term medical conditions.  The former have cars, time and flexibility, the latter have empty days, cabin fever and lots of anxiety.  So, the plan is simple - get a car load of them, find a cheap cafe or a pub with a good lunchtime deal and take them out.  No holy holy stuff, just practical caring (I just remembered I didn't say grace today, oh how evil a minister I am!  Not.).

I also from time to time do home communions, always taking someone with me because it is the church (fellowship) not the minister who. theologically, does this.  Yesterday the person I was visiting invited me for lunch, which was, afterall, far more communion than a bit of crumbly bread and a sip of juice.  We chatted about this and that, and support and love were shared.

What I hope, as I build and extend this model a bit, drawing in those for whom an evening meal or a weekend brunch might be better, is that rather than building little cliques, people will begin to do the same for each other, building relationships and growing in community.

I have never liked the cup of tea with the old lady model of pastoral visiting, which feels artificial and unhelpful.  The host, on their best behaviour gets out the china cup for the 'vicar' and after the designated 30/60minutes including a prayer of the 'we four and no more variety', the vicar leaves.  Whilst I do appreciate that good pastoral relationships can be built from regular, cyclic visitation, I was never, ever, visited by a minister, and it isn't something that I find in my gifting.  But getting groups of folk - 2's and 3's - to talk and encourage each other on an ad hoc basis, seems to me a workable middle course.

Of course this could prove disastrous for my waistline, such as it is, but it seems a good cause... 

Comments

  • If you use the word 'gifting' again, you will formally fail your DPT!

  • OK, I'm confused - not that it takes much - and obviously missing something here. I'll find some different words to use.

  • what's wrong with 'gifting' Sean?

    Catriona- you have a gift of hospitality and caring in a way that spreads out to others who, hopefully, follow your example!

    Some of my older crowd now meet for lunch before a church fun afternoon every two weeks- the most fellowship they have done for years I suspect and its in a pub!!

  • Well, responding to these comments is certainly brightening my afternoon by providing a welcome interruption to hymn choosing.

    So, I am so glad you both have the charism of amusing and encouraging me. :-)

  • There is a perfectly good noun that expresses everything that needs to be said ... and Julie, you use it: 'gift'. The word has become common parlance as a way of spiritualizing ordinary, everyday English (so a gifting is something slightly more spiritual than a gift. You don't hear Christians saying that Picasso had an artistic 'gifting'.

  • Ah, now I see. Fair cop.

    Though of course, I could claim that in Leicestershire they'd say Picasso did 'ave a giftin' m'duck, and that I am just being highly contextual.

    I could, but I'd also be lying.

    Now I've been kept entertained and 'edificated' I'll get back to something more significant in the grand scheme of things...

  • Sean - I stand corrected! I vow never to use 'gift***' again!
    Or any of Catriona's other hated words but no promises over grammar!

  • I thought you meant that
    to give folk a lifting was
    part of your gifting.

    Are haikus allowed internal rhymings?

The comments are closed.