Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Ears to hear?

Unless an ear of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed.

But if it dies it produces many seeds.

(John 12:24 NIVi)

At this morning's prayer meeting this verse kept coming into my mind.  Whether it was me or God or a bit of both who can objectively verify?  But it wouldn't go away, so I shared it and no one accused me of heresy!

Unless an ear of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains a single seed.  But if it dies it produces many seeds.

Is this what is being said to our little church?  I do not know, but I do wonder.

If I have an image in my mind, it is that we are on the edge of a cliff that has been steadily eroded over time.  As a result, what was once fairly safe, with a nice view of the sea, has become increasingly dangerous and is now precarious.  At the same time the sea has been getting more stormy, we have moved from a few little squalls to full force 9 gales, and the waves have been getting steadily bigger and more menacing.  Now it almost feels that I can hear the rumble of an impending tsunami.  Will we choose to sing "we have an anchor" even more loudly, will we step back from the edge or we will be swept away?  I honestly do not know.

This much I do believe:

  • that God called me to this place at this time for this reason
  • that God is faithful
  • that death is part of life, and resurrection without death impossible
  • that if this grain of wheat must die, and if it falls to the ground, despite the fallout and blame, the seeds can be spread far and wide, to extend the harvest of the gospel.

I am convinced that it is valid for a local church to die, if that is what is needful, in order for the seeds to be released for another planting.  I am fairly confident that, if this is the time for it to happen, I can, with God's help, walk the path to allow this to happen, and still see that as a vaild conclusion.

At the same time, I wrestle with the fear that I'm crying wolf (is this really the edge or not?) and the human fear of being scapegoated if I am proved right.  I am not entirely sure about putting this on the old www where anyone at all can see it.  But If I don't am I then colluding with the ostrich mentality that has brought us to this place?

Unless an ear of wheat falls to the ground and dies - may God grant that I, and we, have ears to hear what the Spirit says to the church.

The comments are closed.