Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Progressive Interpretation...

... a view on hermeneutics.

For a bit of fun try out a hermeneutics quiz here and discover whether you are 'conservative' 'moderate' or 'progressive.'

With a score of 72 I am apparently progressive.  Is this good, bad or indifferent?  That probably depends on what you are!  According to this article all three approaches are useful and none is inherently better or worse, just different.  I think I'm happy enough to be a self-aware, self-critical, progressive in this respect - better that than a foot stamping anything! 

Thanks to Maggie Dawn on whose blog I found this quiz

Comments

  • Me too! 71!

  • Hey, I got 66 - so slightly lower but still seen as progressive!

  • Oops I meant 68!

  • 70, made much more "progressive" by answering number 5 for the last 7 questions!

    Suspect my answers were a bit more over the place because my answers were less informed by study than those of you who're church leaders, but most of my answers were either 1 or 2, or else I felt number 5 did not go far enough!

    Was particularly unhappy with question 5, in which I felt every answer was prejudiced against sex workers. *decides to read that bit of scripture again tonight*

  • 72 as well - and I thought I was moderate! Maybe I still am and everyone else is just wrong... ;-)

  • Beat you all with a giant 83. Don't know what that means. The explanation just read something along the lines of 'Gee, you should pick up your Bible once in a while' then i felt bad.

    Then i remembered that verse that says "Honesty is the best policy, forgive and forget" (it's just after the parable of the boy who cried wolf), and i knew it was God's promise direct for me, and i felt much better.

The comments are closed.