Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

One for the scientists among you...

Last night I was phoned to help out my 12 year old niece with her science homework, which was an A-Z of terms associated with fuels and energy (allegedly, some of the questions clearly weren't!).  To my shame, I failed on one question which was 'thermal d...'

As it was read out over the phone, and as I don't know what the topic actually was, and as I don't recall the Year 7 'lie' I can't be sure what the intent was.  But does anyone have a four-letter (polite!) d-word for thermal in their vocabulary?

I was just quite pleased that I could instantly answer the question 'solvent for chewing gum' beginning with 'x' as xylene - but only because that's the only solvent I could think of beginning with that letter!  And I had to smile that my sister had not sussed that a word beginning with 'y' for a cold, sooty bunsen flame was yellow!  All good fun.

Comments

  • I think it was not 4 but 6 letters, and the word for Thermal was DAMART! [by the way, the tagline in France for Damart products, printed on their carrier bags, is "Elegant and seductive"!]

  • It seems we think alike! That was my initial suggestion, but was met with derision by my sister, and my niece was adamant it was four letters.

    Should I ever feel the neeed for seductive thermals I now know where to go!

The comments are closed.