Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Defining our heritage...

This morning I had an email regarding an act of worship I am to lead, requesting that it reflect a theme of 'Baptistic worship through the centuries.'  Thankfully I get 20th century rather than 17th, although singing the odd Benjamin Keach hymn might be very funny.  As I'd already put some work into it, not knowing the theme, I am hoping to define my offering as 'late 20th century British' but I am finding it intriguing trying to think what might be quintessential C20 Baptistic worship - at least without resorting to (a) Blessed be the tie that binds (which I can't stand because I find it mawkish) (b) Kendrick (and him crucified, as my sister would say) (c) Payne & Winward and/or Patterns and Prayers.  So, gentle readers, what for you might define C20 baptistic worship - in a good, bad or indifferent way!

For the record, my current intention is to use a responsive psalm (as in back of BHB and BPW), a couple of scripture readings, some images and music for reflection (that's the late C20 bit!)and some 'prepared extempore' prayers.  No hymns/songs if I can avoid them (because the whole thing is limited to 15 mins), but if I must then probably something from BPW written by a real live Baptist during C20.

Comments

  • Disappointed you don't want any hymns or songs, as I'd have thought the epitome of the Baptistic (is that really a word??) tradition would be to sing anything you like, as long as its accompanied by a guitar and sung two and a half times with the last chorus repeated!

    I look forward to reading about what you end up with! Hope things are good with you

  • Hi Elaine, you will be pleased to know I was asked to include a hymn, so I have - written by Chris Ellis (who is a minister currently at D+~20) and called "Open this book that we may see your word."

    I suspect not many people know it, which is a shame cos the words are quite profound, and the set tune is one I don't know, so I may well cheat and use a late C19 tune by Sullivan instead.

    Well it was that or some 1970's action song... ;o)

    Btw, there was a pretty major debate over whether or not Baptists should sing during the C17, and yes, 'baptistic' is a real word!

The comments are closed.