Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

When Cluster Works

That jolly invention of the last decade of the last millennium: clustering.  That thing that lots of Baptists don't like cos it means talking to other people, being a teeny weeny bit connexional rather than foot-stampingly independent.  I've always thought it was a good idea, but never been that sure it works all that well.  And of course being Baptists clustering is whatever you want it to be - or not, that's the whole point.

Our little cluster works about 50%, that's to say half of the church assigned to it are active within it.

Our little cluster works about 75%, that's to say that when we have cluster meetings, or cluster services or cluster pulpit swaps most of those 50% will be involved (100% for pulpit swaps, less for services and meetings)

Our little cluster works 100%, that's to say, of those who are active within it, we are there for each other and will lend each other our buildings and people (ministers and musicians) if needed.

I was thinking last night about the opening words I use for weddings and funerals (I don't 'do' sentences as I walk in, not only do I not like it (it was not evident in my early experience of free church funerals and I have heard too many droning vicars) I actually find silence more profound and meaningful) which are along the lines of 'on behalf of Dibley Baptist Church and with thanks to D+1/D+2 for their hospitality, I welcome you to...  Such words won't appear in any published liturgy but I think they express - to me, to us, to others - something really important about our cluster, about church, about God even.

I should mention that our local Methodist and Anglican churches have also lent us their buildings for funerals, and I use a similar greeting on those occasions.

Now and again someone comments (favourably) on this situation, and how nice it is to see churches working together.  It is.  Clustering is a funny old thing, but when it works, it's good.

The comments are closed.