Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Moment's Pause

The Baptist Union of Great Britain must have almost ground to a halt today, or at least the Didcot and East Midlands bits thereof, as so many of us gathered to say farewell to Peter Grange, celebrating his life and praying for those who mourn and miss him most.  It was a truly great service in which we worshipped and remembered, gave thanks and were encouraged for our own ministries.

Meanwhile, about 10 miles away a family with no church connection drafted in a minister to conduct a funeral for a loved one at the local crematorium.  I know this, because after careful thought, I declined the request from the undertaker to 'help them out' - and offers of alternative times did not fit what was already booked.  I genuinely hope their needs were met.

And fifty miles away a friend was attending a funeral in difficult circumstances and, even as I laughed at funny stories and sang with gusto where I was, I was aware that others were facing more challenging services.

Lots of death around at the moment in Baptist circles, or at least those in which I move.  Lots of different circumstances as unfulfilled potential sits cheek by jowl with immense achievement, as 'taken too soon' follows 'fullness of years,' as 'sure and certain hope' is mirrored by 'the mercy and grace of Almighty God.'

It seems good, to me, to pause, to reflect and to wonder at the amazing God who holds it all...

 

The text for the address at Peter's service was the one to which I trace my own call to ordained ministry - and I'm sure I'm not alone in that - and it was a fitting place to hear that call reaffirmed, to recommit myself to obey it in the future I as yet cannot see.

Comments

  • I reflect on three funerals that will be taking place in our community over the next week or two. One will be a celebration of a long life, lived well - the funeral of one of our church members who was 96 years old, and who had been a part of our church community for over 70 of those years. Another will be the funeral of another of our church members who died in sudden and tragic circumstances - but again we can celebrate a life of faith and service.

    But it is the third funeral where I pause - the funeral of the grandfather of one of our teenagers, who died unexpectedly last week. We have a great bunch of teenagers, mainly girls, who have started coming to church over recent months, from a completely non-church background. Many of them have come to faith, and we are baptising three in the new year. Now one of them has come face to face with death in the family, perhaps for the first time. And, bless her, she has been asked by the family to choose the hymns for the simple service at the crematorium, because she is the only one in the family who goes to church. So we will be praying for her, and the family, on Tuesday.

  • Thank you for sharing these stories of real life in all its rawness. I will be praying for you all as you prepare for these events, knowing something of the emotional demands they make on a minister. Your folk are blessed to have you at such a time as this.

  • My own blog carries a similar remembrance of a saint old ion years while retaining curiosity, vitality and a determined spirit that refused to allow life's limits to eclipse its remaining possibilities. Sharing in the beginnings and endings of life, and the many happenings in between, is one of the costly joys of pastoral ministry, gladly borne. Peace and strength to you Catriona. It was so good to meet up with you last month - hope it isn't as long the next time.

  • Thanks Jim.

    Indeed, I hope it is not too long until me meet again in the real world.

The comments are closed.