Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Baptism Gifts for 70-somethings?

Plans are coming togther well for our Baptism service a week on Sunday, I have even managed to find a suitable card to give from the Church as well as one from me.  Now it is just the small matter of a suitable gift, and here I'm a bit stuck for ideas.  From me as a person, I'm going to give an anthology of Christian poetry, but what to get from Church?  Our candidate already has a fairly new, up to date Bible and I bought her and her husband a Salvadorean cross as one of their wedding gifts.  I did spot some commemorative candles on Ebay at £10 plus postage but am not overly enamoured with that idea.  M is a thinking person who would not be an appropiate recipient of Patience Strong or anything of the 'Power of the Praying Thingamagig' ilk.  I feel that something in a spirituality/devotional/prayer line would be good but I'm not sure what and I don't have time to tour every Christian book shop in a 10 mile radius to find something.  Any thoughts?

Comments

  • How about a Christian Book Shop gift voucher? Then M can tour every Christian book shop in a 10 mile radius to find something herself!
    What I do for new baptisees is a nice certificate in a frame. Wording to the effect of 'This certificate is presented to ******* on the occasion of his/her Baptism at ****** on *****.
    Underneath the main wording I then type a suitable scripture that either suits the occasion or the person or both. Presented in a nice frame from Asda it's surprising how good it can look set in classy fonts on a bit of marbly effect paper. Call me a cheap skate but people are usually chuffed to bits with something that marks their day in an official sort of way. Perhaps I should market this idea!

  • I agree with Richard - gift token from Xn bookshop and certificate in a frame.
    Can't do better than that!

The comments are closed.