Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Supermarket Theology?

Whilst doing my supermarket shop today, I picked up the in-store magazine.  The editor's letter began thus:

I spied an EVANGELICAL gleam in the cookery team's EYES when they were asked to think credit crunch cuisine for this special issue.

I did a double take because the first word to catch the eye was Evangelical, in capitals, in orange (which may be deliberate given which supermarket it was).  I realise we have St Delia, and that Jamie has at least been beatified by now (and both are associated with said supermarket) but it did make me pause to see the term used in relation to food.

As it happens, four letter words not withstanding, I think Jamie is a great evangelist for his cause, and has all the same frustrations that Christians face:

Jesus - make disciples of all nations teaching them everything I have taught you

Jamie - pass it (a recipe idea) on, if everyone tells two people it'll be done in no time

If only...

Just maybe, as I pause to ponder, the magazine editor is on to something important.  What if our church newsletters began

I spied an EVANGELICAL gleam in the leadership team's EYES when they were asked to think missional responses to the credit crunch  for this year?

Hmm.

Comments

  • Don't forget the catchphrase of that 'orange'supermarket - "Our values make us different"!

The comments are closed.