Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Making History?

Yesterday, as the world watched the inauguration of Barack Obama on TV, I was at D+2 doing Girls' Brigade, and I have no regrets.

Don't get me wrong, his election is of global importance and it would have been good to watch, but it was more important to help shape the experiences of our couple of dozen girls.

History is so often characterised by big events and famous names - but really is the little people doing little bits that no one ever notices or records.  We need the heroes/heroines, we need the kairos moments, we need the landmarks and paradigm shifts - but we also need the little bits, the people who will never know the part they played in shaping/making history.  Copernicus and the Mongolian butterfly - both are part of the story.

The odds are that in ten years time most, if not all, of 'my' girls will have moved on and forgotten who I was, but if their personal history is a little richer because of the activities we shared on that historic night then it has been more than worth missing one of those 'I can remember where I was when' moments.

The comments are closed.