Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

New Beginnings

This afternoon I was at an induction service at D+6.  It was a cold, bright winter afternoon, but Geoff would have been disappointed - no mulled wine (see here)!  I did my best by taking a bottle of wine as a gift to the new minister - something the moderator thought seemed like a good tradition to be starting.  It was a very happy service - and as inductions go fairly short at only about 75 minutes.  The sermon was well delivered - except the opening sentences made me need to bite my tongue quite hard with its implied critique of small, older congregations as if death is their only option.  A little harsh given at least two such fellowships were represented; maybe I'm a tad sensitive, who knows.  All I do know is that I've served my little church for five years and - despite the relentless challenges along the way - have no sense that it has been futile or doomed to end in failure, at least not if we can see past human measurements to the God who calls and keeps us.

It struck me as a little odd that the greetings were deferred until after the food - which meant that some VIPs had already had to leave - and that some of the greeters looked as if they'd just wandered in from the garden (maybe an apt metaphor given the horticultural theme of the sermon).

Five years ago, on the equivalent weekend, I was inducted at Dibley.  My, what a lot has happened since then!  I wonder what this minister will be thinking five years hence, and whether his garden will be coming up roses?

I like inductions, they are times of excitement and hope, and I think they are important milestones to which we can look back not just with fondness, but also to remind ourselves, if needed, that we were once sure this was of God!  Thinking back to my own, it is surprising how much I can recall - including references to futile gestures of climbing into wells, the risk of Messiah complexes and the fact that ministers are actually just naughty boys/girls.  (I'm sure there was some deep theology too!).

Among the songs today was one Matt Redman's finer offerings - not exactly great for congregational singing, but the words carry great meaning and seem a very honest statement at this time of new beginnings:

 

Blessed be your name

In the land that is plentiful,

Where Your streams of abundance flow,

Blessèd be Your name.

And blessèd be Your name

When I'm found in the desert place,

Though I walk through the wilderness,

Blessèd be Your name.

 

Every blessing You pour out I'll

Turn back to praise.

When the darkness closes in, Lord,

Still I will say:

Blessèd be the name of the Lord,

Blessèd be Your name.

Blessèd be the name of the Lord,

Blessèd be Your glorious name.

 

Blessèd be Your name

When the sun's shining down on me,

When the world's 'all as it should be',

Blessèd be Your name.

And blessèd be Your name

On the road marked with suffering,

Though there's pain in the offering,

Blessèd be Your name.

 

You give and take away,

You give and take away.

My heart will choose to say:

Lord, blessèd be Your name.

 

Matt & Beth Redman Copyright © 2002 Thankyou Music

Comments

  • Hi Catriona - you say blessed be your name doesnt work too well for congregational singing but we sing it in services at Duston and it sounds wonderful - its one of my favourite Matt Redman songs!
    I love catching up with what you are up to from you blog - keep up the good works

  • Hi Catherine, thanks for the comment. So, will it be sung at 1st Duston GB's 75th rather than the old faithful 'Give me oil in my lamp'?! I am looking forward to the reunion - but it's scary to think it is now 28 years since we did our officer's training.

    I love 'Blessed be your name' too but I tend to use a recording of it rather than getting my wrinklies to try to sing it.

The comments are closed.