Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Get the Look!

Here in Dibley it has snowed fairly steadily all day. Not as heavily as in Kent or London, but enough to build up about 6 inches on top of my wheelie bin and at least 4 on the garden.  My road resembles a toboggan run and there've been a few interesting bits of driving to observe though the main roads, until about 3 pm, were clear; thereafter they slowly covered over.

I needed to do a couple of visits today - one to the local Community Hospital where one of my long-term hospitalised folk is now undergoing intensive physio and one to my much-loved 90-something year-old crusty Gideon who was refusing to call out the doctor in the snow.

So, hospital visiting in Dibley = dog-collar, snow = hiking boots... hence a new ensemble of clerical shirt, woolly jumper, jeans and hiking boots (with waterproof and fleecy hat/gloves of course).  It's the look - the Dibley look!

I called into the corner shop on the way back to treat myself to some lemon-curd tarts and instant hot chocolate.  I got chatting (as usual) to the woman behind the counter who spotted the collar and asked about it - I told her I try to look normal (!) most of the time.  She then shared that she was baptised by the Archbishop of York and she said 'bless you' as I left the shop.  I'm not a great fan of dog-collars, though I do think they have there place, and every now and then I find these magical moments arise.

Tomorrow it may or may not snow here - we seem to be on the edge of every weather map/system going - but hopefully I won't need to reproduce 'the look' again in a hurry.

Comments

  • Don't believe you. Where's the pictures?

  • Hee Hee. Which bit don't you believe? The grungy vicar of Dibley look? The Dibley toboggan run? The crusty old Gideon? The shop assistant baptised by the Arch-Bish? Or that so many amazing wonders could be beheld on the same day?! Alas no photos - too high tech. for Dibley.

  • What would a photograph add that the eye of faith cannot supply? Reminded of the classic Postman Pat story from the 1980s, I can picture even now the slightly updated 2009 version: 'Clergyperson Cat Goes Sledging'.

    "There was deep snow in Dibley..."

    Just as long as the local Anglican doesn't break her leg in the snow and have to have the parish magazine distributed by our heroine as well!

    "No more digging or sledging for us today" said Cat to Jess. "It'll take more than snow to stop us!"

    I must just go and make sure somebody's cleared the church drive before tonight's dance class!

The comments are closed.