Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Fantine and St John?

Today I've been working on Sunday's service which will be based around Pslam 126 and Revelation 21: 1 - 7.  As I was reading some commentary on the psalm, I found the song 'I dreamed a dream' from Les Miserables came into my mind, so in the end the sermon will juxtapose Fantine's hopelessness with Christian hopefulness despite the hurt and struggle.

There's a lot that resonates in Fantine's song that will be woven into the sermon:

 

I dreamed a dream in time gone by
When hope was high
And life worth living
I dreamed that love would never die
I dreamed that God would be forgiving
Then I was young and unafraid
And dreams were made and used and wasted

 

I guess almost anyone over 40 can identify with some of those sentiments, and also these, later in the song:


But there are dreams that cannot be
And there are storms we cannot weather

 

In ending my sermon I've tried to use these two lines as the start of a (plagiarism?) that has a more Christisn hope to it.  It needs tweaking before Sunday, but here it is as it stands...


True, there are dreams that cannot be

And there are storms we cannot weather

But if Christ is at our side

At least we’ll face these things together


We have a hope that keeps us strong:

The promise of a new creation.

Until then we’ll walk by faith –

And trust in One who keeps their promise:

 

An end to death and tears and pain;

An endless spring of living water;

Forever in the love of God:

The dream which keeps our hope alive!


The comments are closed.