Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Resurrection Joy

This morning's service was a delight to lead - we had to get out extra chairs as there were 30 of us, despite several being absent, including one or two infrequent folk.  I had 30 plastic eggs containing mini-eggs to give away - I must have known!

At the start of the service we had the opportunity to express our thoughts and feelings on white paper eggs that were gathered with the money offering and laid at the foot of a life-height cross in the centre of the circle of chairs.  Some named people on their hearts, some wrote expressions of praise, several expressed the tensions that they felt.  Here are some of the pairings, some slightly rephrased.

Anxiety and optimism

Worry and contentment

Fear and gratitude

Spiritual fulfilment and physical unwellness

Fear and trust

Numbness and hopefulness

 

Had I read these before I had preached, I wouldn't have needed to, for they say all that is needful to hear: resurrection joy is what allows us to hold these tensions knowing that God is with us in the struggles and ahead of us in the promise.

I hope my sermon engaged these people in their need and vulnerability, honesty and strength; I hope that their resurrection joy will sustain them on the path ahead.

 

Christ is risen - we believe, Lord help our unbelief.

The comments are closed.