Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Stuff 'n' Nonsense

Nothing much worthy of posting at the moment coupled with a post-Assembly cold (no, it's not porkine influenza despite several people worrying in case it is!) mean not much to say.  But being addicted (or some such) to posting and wanting to displace a bit of hymn-picking a little longer here are some odds and ends from this week.

I am puzzled by the pricing policy of low cost airlines!  I have just booked a flight for a few weeks hence, total cost a little over £100, but the breakdown shows that one of the fares, before taxes is 4p!  If I had been able to travel hand baggage only and online check-in (which this airline only allows with hand baggage only) then they would have only charged me 4p - plus taxes.  How does that cover the cost?  I don't get it.  Fortunately for them I have baggage (~£25) and real live check in (~£7) so they get some money out of me.  But even so...

I was confused when I opened my Baptist Times - finally arriving this morning - and it talked about Dibley and Christian Aid week.  Then I realised it was the other Dibley (of TV fame).  I hadn't realised how much Dibley and where I am have become synonymous in my mind!

I came across an amusing Bible literalism quiz here (HT Neil).  Having trained at Northern I got all the answers correct (we did something along these lines in the first ever Biblical studies class) and my answer to the last question reflects the training I received: I'm not a hidebound literalist but I don't just 'paper doiley' my Bible tocut out the bits I don't like.  The comments on the blog that posted the quiz indicate that people have probably misunderstood the aim - which is to challenge mindless literalism not affirm it.

Andy has noted that the doctrine tutor from Spurgeon's is leaving to take up a pastorate in Devon - at a church with only 35 members accordig to the BUGB directory.  This is one example of what it means to follow a calling - not always to bigger or more apparently prestigious, but to the place where Christ leads.  As a minister in a small church, it is encouraging to see someone who could probably have his pick of pastorates accpeting such a call.

This week is various bits and bobs before a long drive to Scotland on Thursday (no 4p flights available and none that fitted the times I needed) ready to start walking the West Highland Way on Friday.  Should be fun.  Just need to remember to pack the midge repellent!

Comments

  • I made the sefl same mistake when I opened BT this morning before leaving for church fair!

  • West Highland Way was one of the best holidays i had.
    Only one wet day and a moderate spread of midges
    if you are looking for somewhere to sat in Fort William i can let you have a great address
    Craig

  • Hi Craig - yes please. Alas I have to whiz back south (after retrieving my car from Dunblane!) to preach in Dibley (this one not the other one) almost as soon as I finish the walk but will definitely need to eat first.

  • Good grief ... driving and preaching ... all i wanted to do was have a bath and sleep.

    Anyway my typo has led to an interesting lesson in interpretation
    I meant to say 'stay' but wrote 'sat' which you quite understandably took as 'eat.'

    If you like seafood the Crannog is the best but not cheap ... it is right in town though.

    I think the other one I've been to in the last few years was the Lime Tree ... it was kind of cool and arty too.

    Or if you are whizzing back in someone else's car stop off at the Bridge of Orchy Hotel ... you'll pass it on the way north about day 4. Good spot for grub on the way up too!

  • LOL, I didn't say I'd preach anything that made any sense! Just have to be back in dear old Dibley.

    Will pass on the food recommendations to my walking companions - thanks.

The comments are closed.