Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Eternal Trinity

I am starting to outline the service for Trinity Sunday - that most unloved and avoided theme within the litrugical year.  Last year I focussed on relational trinity models and my 'divine reel of three leading to a missional grand chain' image.  This year, partly because I had a (semi-serious) request that we sit in a triangle, and partly because D+1 are with us, I have decided to go with something that I thought was more straight forward - until I tried to think of or find Bible texts to go with it!

My flash of inspiration (?) was to build the sermon slot around the words from the Book of Hours (I think)

Glory be to the Father

And to the Son

And to the Holy Spirit

As it was in the beginning

Is now

And shall be forever

So, there would be three shortish reflections around the co-equal, co-eternal Trinity.

In the beginning - Genesis 1 and John 1

Is now - John 14:15 - 22, Matthew 28:16 - 20

Shall be forever.... er..... 2 Corinthians 13:14 sprang to mind but does not have the 'for evermore' we add when we use it as a blessing.  I can't seem to find an obvious trinitarian reference in Revelation.

Anyone care to enlighten me?  I may well cheat and use the 2 Corinthians bit anyway but I'd like something else if possible.

PS The dreaded green hymnbook actually came into its own as it actually has a section of hymns on the theme of Trinity - not something SOF or MP or even BPW seems so hot on!

The comments are closed.