Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Eight-year-old Existential Angst?

This afternoon I am off to school to face a Q & A session with sixty Year 4 children (aged 8-9) who have thought up a whole load of questions to which they are seeking the answers of sa series of world faiths (albeit independently of each other, which is a shame because those of us invited in have been chosen as those who are tolerant and respectful of difference).  This is part of an attempt by their (Muslim as it happens) class teacher promote philosophy within the curriculum.  When he ranfg yesterday he said the chidlrne had come up wioth lots of questions - on green issues and ethics, but he hoped they'd go further to existential questions such as 'why are we here?' Help!  Don't think I ever studied the answer to that one and I couldn't honestly say its ever really troubled me.  So do I say "the chief end of man (sic) is to glory God and enjoy Him forever"? Or do I make something up!!  Hmm.  Will report back later.

The comments are closed.