Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Farewell Discourses

The end of the school year sees the start of my 'goodbyes' to the people of Dibley and district.  On Friday I go into school for the last time as a Governor and as a local minister.  I will pay my last visit to Four Plus (Foundation) who I have accompanied for about three years during which legislation has impacted dramatically on their work.  Then I will present 'Your move' books to all of year 6 - a gift from Dibley BC made possible from a couple of small legacies last year.

This morning I've written the newsletter for lunch club which tells them I'm on my way and that the club's 4th birthday lunch will also be my last.  (A lot of four-ness in all of this don't you think?!).  Looking back over the last four years to summarise what we've done has been good - more than a hundred lives touched, outings to cathedrals, cultured cities and the coast, a wedding, several funerals, carol services and songs of praise in sheltered housing... To say nothing of tonnes of shepherd's pie, ham, egg & chips, fish cakes, vegetarian lasagne and peaches & ice cream they've eaten in that time!!  It's been good and, which is more pertinent, it can continue to be good.

Guess I'd better get used to saying 'goodbye' quite regularly for the next couple of months!

The comments are closed.