Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Less Auspicious Endings...

Tonight should have been 'thing in a pub' and I dutifully took myself off to the local... leaving after an hour during which not one person from church had shown up.  I had boosted takings by a couple of quid, had ordered food for next month and had a bit of a conversation with the landlady, a barmaid and a couple of customers, so it wasn't a waste.  It wasn't even unexpected, to be honest.  Just a tad disappointing.

On the Fresh Expressions DVD is a Methodist minister who says that what he wants to be able to say when he meets God is 'I tried' and I guess that's what can be said about this initiative... 'we tried.'  I guess it made some difference to some people, and I certainly enjoyed the speakers we had during the first year.  I guess I have learned something from it, and would be a bit better equipped to explore a similar venture in the future.

So, next month I will invite the undertakers and other people I know from around the place to come and share the food... and as for those for whom it was ordered they will not taste one morsel and will weep and wail and gnash their teeth... or not... probably not.

The comments are closed.