Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Tetalestai?

Yesterday one of my tasks was to work on the liturgy for my final Dibley service - during which we will declare our belief that our time together is complete and release each other from the covenant we made nearly six years ago.  It took a while to find the right word to describe what it is we are declaring, but in the end 'complete' seemed the best, and today as I was mulling it over the Greek 'tetalestai' floated into my conscious.  Fulfilled, completed, accomplished, done, finished...

In my experience we aren't so good at endings, at least liturgically: we make a right song and dance over inductions (which is good, I like it and am looking forward eagerly to my next one!) but leaving tends to avoid any acknowledgement of the commitments that are now being un-done.  Once it happens, I will post my words and you can see what you think.  Thanks to Jim's comment on my previous post, I think I now have the last line sorted.

The comments are closed.