Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Curious

Regular readers of this blog know that my maternal grandmother was Jewish (which means that I am racially Jewish, just) and may know that my grandparents moved to Glasgow at the start of World War 2 to be further from Hitler's reach because even though she had 'married out' her entire family would have been on his hit-list for extermination.  My grandparents, via a convoluted route no doubt, spent most of their lives as active Christian Scientists (often defined as the classic misnomer being neither orthodoxly Christian nor scientific; but who am I to judge?) and were for many years caretakers at their local church in Glasgow.  Yesterday I tracked it down, only to discover that it is now a Hindu centre and their former caretaker's flat a suite of offices.  It all seemed quite curious and somehow quite fitting given their own history.

So if you ever wondered why I am quite the heretic I am, maybe it is simply in my genes...?!

Comments

  • Attitudes towards 'religious' heritage can be a funny thing... One of my grandfather's was brought up as a Christian Scientist - and it put him off religion for life when as a teenager he developed a tooth abscess and was told to repent of his sinful thoughts to make the pain go away. My other grandfather has been grand master of his lodge a couple of times. I once shared this information with someone at church, who in all seriousness told me that I needed to receive 'healing' for my family tree. But when I pointed out that my maternal grandfather (the ex-Christian-Scientist) was actually my mother's adopted father, and that my own father (whose father is the 2XGrand-Master) is my adopted father, meaning that there is no direct genetic link to either, she astonishingly told me that this in that case I had nothing to worry about.
    So, apparently, it is all genetic!
    This still doesn't explain why I am the heretic I am, though...

The comments are closed.