Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Taking trips

Yesterday being my day off I undertook an experiment - could I visit my Mum for the day when she lives about 350 miles south of here?  The answer was yes - though it was a very long and rather expensive day out.  Leaving home at 5:30 and getting back at 22:30 made it tiring and the railways did their utmost to thwart me by setting fire to a train near Coventry but it was possible and it was an enjoyable, and worth repeating experiment.  I would especially commend Parksafe at Glasgow airport (well near it) who were inexpensive, very helpful and completely hassle free.

By contrast today, a very different trip after a jogger hurtled round a corner knocking me off my feet and cracking my head on the pavement in the process.  Spilling sassenach blood was a passtime I thought had been long abandoned...  An ambulance ride was not in my plans but the crew were kind and helpful and full marks to the good people at A&E who glued me back together and send me on my way.  According to the head injury card I was given side effects can include disorientation and grumpiness - but would anyone notice the difference?!  On reflection I feel very sorry for the poor jogger who thought he'd at least half-killed me, but maybe next time he will look up and about as he runs...  And maybe I should not try to set off to work before it is light...  Am I now a dark mornings statistic?!

So now I am running a couple of hours late on my plans for the day, have some new bruises and have seen some new places I hadn't planned on and am meant to keep waking myself up all night to make sure I'm not dead...  But what has been good is the kindness of strangers, albeit doing their jobs, from the woman at Parksafe who gave me a slot near the office because I'd be back late at night to the person who lent a terrified jogger their phone to call an ambulance.

Now, unlike humpty dumpty, I am glued back together and must get on with some work...

Comments

  • You poor thing - take care of yourself.
    Its a bit of an extreme way to check out the local hospital! I am glad you expereinced Scottish generosity!

  • Ouch! I hope you feel better soon and manage to wake yourself up enough... but not too often.

    One of those fairly traded fluorescent clergy shirts may come in handy after all (you know, the ones with VICAR written on the back).

    The Lord bless you and keep you.

  • Poor you! Let the two hours go - everything will get done eventually!

The comments are closed.